Skip to main content
Troubleshooting

Reassigning HOS Logs After an Unlogged Driver Swap on a Shared Vehicle

Written By Vishal Singh

If a vehicle is shared — for example, a mechanic drives a vehicle that is assigned to another driver in the system, without logging in as themselves — the driving time gets attached to the vehicle's currently-assigned driver by default. This can create an incorrect HOS violation for a driver who wasn't actually driving.

How to Fix It

Logs can be reassigned from the incorrectly-attributed driver to the actual driver (or to an unassigned/mechanic log), but only with confirmation from both:

  1. The driver the logs are currently attributed to, and

  2. The fleet manager.

Contact support for help reassigning the logs once both confirmations are obtained.

To Avoid This

Anyone operating a shared vehicle — including non-drivers such as mechanics — should log in as themselves (or use an unassigned/unidentified-driver profile, if available) before operating the vehicle, so driving time isn't attributed to the wrong person.